The Second Month

Friday, March 11 ~ Thursday, April 7, 2016

This was a very interesting period of 4 weeks. I vacationed in Niagara Falls and had 3 parties or outings in addition to my regular life. At least I didn’t have the flu.

So, because of a small weight gain, and then a week of NO movement in the weight department, I am sitting at a Total Weight Loss of 5.8 pounds after 8 weeks. In my measurements, I am down another inch off my waist, which I refer to as “the pony girth.”  Yeah, I love it. Hips and Upper Arms stayed exactly the same, no surprise there, but my Thigh measurement went down to 22.5 inches, down another inch and a half. So there’s that.

I pretty much freaked out last week and got out my Body-for-LIFE book. I then went to the website and printed out the online resources for tracking work-outs and filled it all out and posted it on the kitchen wall. My idea was I will see it there every time I go in there looking for snacks, and I put my container of hand-weights and dumb bells in the kitchen as well.

http://bodyforlife.com/library/exercise/weight-training

 Every morning this week before I left for work I did a 20 minute work-out relay to help fire up my metabolism and keep it going. That is the best time to do the work-out. Phillips also has a section in his book regarding the cardio aerobics activity. He calls it “The 20-Minute Aerobics Solution”. I understand his theory on this and why it will work for someone like me. The outline for it is on pages 64 to 67 in his book. That’s not much to read and it made a lot of sense to me.

Specifically, on page 65 he explains how “high-intensity training burns fat more efficiently than low-intensity exercise – it also speeds up your metabolism and keeps it revved up for some time after your workout. The majority of the calories will be used up the hour after our workouts, provided we don’t eat for one hour after our exercise sessions.” Which is mind-blowing information for me!

The next paragraph explains that doing the exercise in the morning will enhance the fat-burning effects of the workout. If you can’t workout first thing in the morning then choose a time that is at least 3 hours after you last ate and drink plenty of water. 

Why I am using this particular work-out program. Well, I used it before to get the pregnancy weight gain off, and I used it about 5 years after that to tone up again. All I am really interested in doing is getting my metabolism going first thing in the morning. I don’t really want to look like a body builder.

One thought on “The Second Month

  1. Hello. I enjoyed your blog. It is exciting to start a new journey to a healthy lifestyle. I am on one as well so I commend you. I can help you enhance your weight loss naturally by taking natural products. I have been drinking the detox tea and I have lost 11lbs in 14 days. Visit my blog for more information. Good luck on your journey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

